samedi 21 juin 2008

Moderne- Moderne LP

Today calls for a little French electro-pop/minimal wave/whatever tag you want to put on these guys. It's hard to classify, as some songs are cheery as sin, while there's a hint of ice cold electronics throughout.

The band is Moderne, a French four piece formed in a town just south of Paris in 1979. Moderne released but two albums and a few 7''s, but each record featured a different vocalist. This is the first of the pair, a 1980 self-titled affair.

Moderne split soon after their second album L'Espionne Aimait La Musique was released, but have enjoyed some cult success with 'Switched on Bach,' a single pulled from their swan song, also featured on 2004's So Young But So Cold compilation.

Without any further ado, here's the info for Moderne's first record:

Moderne- Moderne LP
1. Indicatif
2. Séduction
3. Histoire Ordinaire
4. Electronique
5. Vers l'Est (masterpiece)
6. Rock'n Roll Stars
7. Sans Signalement

*download it here*

Aucun commentaire: