mercredi 6 août 2008

Sol Invictus - Lex Talionis (1993)

Anthony Charles Wakeford started his music career as bassist in '77 British punk band Crisis. In 1980 Crisis disbanded and Wakeford formed Death In June together with guitar player Douglas Pearce. In 1985 he left the band to form his own personal project, called Above The Ruins. The music continued in the vein of early Death In June and Joy Division, with a nervous and dramatic post-punk sound. The new band disbanded quite soon, and Tony Wakeford stayed away from the music scene for some years, pursuing his own political and magical interests. He came back in 1987 with Sol Invictus, involving Ian Read and Karl Blake of Lemon Kittens and Shock Headed Peters. The music of Sol Invictus on the first recordings was a strange mixture of acoustic and electronic sounds, creating some epic and dramatic songs which stand against the decadence of the West and of modern society. This original and unique sound characterizes the first three albums, "Against The Modern World" (1988), "In The Jaws Of The Serpent" (1989) and "Lex Talionis" (1990). In 1991 Ian Read left the band to form Fire And Ice, and Wakeford took the sound of Sol Invictus progressively more towards a dark folk approach, hiring new talented musicians, such as genius violinist Matt Howden and talented singer and instrumentist Sally Doherty. He's also active with the project L'Orchestre Noir, HaWthorn, and a series of collaborations with different artists. Sol Invictus' own self-produced label was S.V.L. Records, then called Cerne and finally Tursa. [Source: DISCOGS]

Sol Invictus - Lex Talionis (Live Hamburg 1991)


Bass - Karl Blake
Engineer [Digital Engineered] - Denis Blackham
Mixed By [Help], Recorded By, Drums [Help] - Dik
Photography - Douglas P.
Piano - Leithana (tracks: 1, 6, 9, 12)
Vocals - Ian Read (tracks: 2 to 7, 9, 10)
Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards - Tony Wakeford


"Lex Talionis" was originally released on vinyl by Cerne as part of the triple untitled boxset with Current 93 and Nurse With Wound. This version of Track 9 originally appeared on a limited edition single with Current 93.

Track Listing:

1. Blood And Wine (1:32)
2. Lex Talionis (6:01)
3. Black Easter (4:29)
4. Kneel To The Cross (4:47)
5. The Ruins (2:50)
6. Tooth And Claw (6:52)
7. Blood Against Gold (4:24)
8. Fields (3:56)
9. Abattoirs Of Love (5:23)
10. Heroes Day (2:39)
11. Rex Talionis (2:24)
12. Wine And Blood (2:24)

Sol Invictus - Lex Talionis (1993)

Aucun commentaire: